The video-conferencing platform Zoom has released a new update in an attempt to deal with an assault of security concerns surrounding the service. Zoom released new security enhancements to remove and report disruptive meeting participants.
New Zoom Security Enhancements:
Suspend Participant Activities
The Suspend Participant Activities feature is enabled by default for all free and paid Zoom users.
Under the Security icon, hosts and co-hosts have the choice to click “Suspend Participant Activities,” to remove a troubling participant from their meeting. All video, audio, in-meeting chat, annotation, screen sharing, and recording during that point will stop, and Breakout Rooms will come to an end.
Additionally, the hosts or co-host are going to be asked if they might wish to report a user from their meeting, share any details, and optionally include a screenshot. Once they reported a specific user, the reported user is going to be removed from their meeting. Zoom’s Trust & Safety team are going to be notified.
Report by Participants
At this point, meeting participants also can report a disruptive user directly from the Zoom client by clicking the top-left Security badge (as shown below). Account owners and admin can allow reporting capabilities for non-hosts in their web settings.
At-Risk Meeting Notifier
Zoom deployed an At-Risk Meeting Notifier to scan public social media posts and other websites for publicly shared Zoom Meeting links. When the tool detects a meeting that appears to be at high risk of being disrupted, it automatically alerts the account owner by email and provides advice on what to do.
This will help to delete the vulnerable meeting and create a new one with new meeting ID.
One of the finest ways to maintain your Zoom meeting secure is to never share your meeting ID or passcode on any public forum, including social media.
These are the new features available on the Zoom desktop clients for Mac, PC, and Linux, and our mobile apps.